Updated 4 August 2020

For the latest information on all COVID-19 health advice and restrictions, please see the Australian government’s COVID-19 website.

To say that 2020 has been a challenging time for most of us is surely an understatement. From drought to bushfires to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, the year has certainly set out to test our mettle.

‘Second wave’ COVID-19 hotspots: tightened border closures

As Victoria sees a ‘second wave’ of COVID-19 cases, the state has put in place Stage 4 restrictions for metropolitan Melbourne and Stage 3 restrictions for regional Victoria.

Additionally, Victoria and New South Wales have both been declared to contain ‘COVID-19 hotspots’.

Along with these developments, Victoria and New South Wales have recently announced the temporary closing of the border between the two states, and other states have also implemented stricter border restrictions.

With effect from Wednesday, 8 July 2020, you will not be able to travel from Victoria into NSW—unless you have a current NSW border entry permit.

Nevertheless, essential services that require travel between the two states will still be able to operate. The NSW government has stated that a “person providing a critical service” will be authorised to enter with a permit.

Victorian residents are also not allowed to travel to the other states (South Australia, Queensland, Tasmania, Western Australia, Northern Territory, Australian Capital Territory) without an exemption or pre-approval granted. However, essential workers such as those involved in the movement of freight are included in the list of exempted persons.

Travelling from Vic to NSW: need-to-know for road transport operators

If your work requires you to travel from Victoria into NSW, do take note of the restrictions in place.

The list of people authorised to enter NSW from Victoria is limited, but includes people providing a critical service. Under NSW’s public health order, you’re considered a “critical services worker” if you’re in one of the following:

  • Freight and logistics
  • Maintenance and repair of critical infrastructure
  • Medical or hospital care
  • Mining, agriculture, construction, energy or manufacturing
  • Commonwealth defence and security services

However, all critical services workers will need to apply for a NSW border entry permit. To apply for a permit, go here.

Do note that there will be conditions on the permit that you will need to follow.

Image source: Yarra City Council

Other state border restrictions and updates*

*Note: information is correct as of 4 August 2020

As the COVID-19 situation continues to develop across the country, border closures and requirements are in place and tightened to help sustain the containment of COVID-19.

So, for smooth trucking… Before travelling between states and territories, make sure you’re up to date on the different border restrictions and entry requirements, and that you have all the necessary paperwork sorted.

For more COVID-19 border updates and information, see the following:

Border restrictions are put in place; and from 8 July 2020, travel into ACT from Victoria is restricted to exempted travellers. Travellers from NSW will need to quarantine.

The Victoria–NSW border is closed with effect from 8 July 2020, with special conditions in place for freight operations and other essential services. There are other restrictions in place, with some exemptions for certain cross-border travel.

With effect from 17 July 2020, all persons travelling into the NT from a COVID-19 hotspot must complete 14 days of mandatory supervised quarantine at their own cost. NT quarantine and exemption advice can be found here.

Border restrictions are in place, and quarantine requirements vary according to your travel status/reason. While Queensland does not permit anyone to travel into the state from a declared COVID-19 hotspot, specialist workers performing an essential activity such as transport of freight will be exempted.

According to the SA government, a pre-approval process is now implemented for those wishing to travel into SA. Essential workers, such as truck drivers, can also apply for an Essential Traveller status. As of 29 July 2020, only essential travellers are able to enter SA from Victoria.

Tasmania has announced that its current border restrictions will remain in place until at least 31 August 2020. All travellers, except for exempted ‘Essential Travellers’, will need to quarantine for 14 days. However, according to the Tasmanian government, Essential Travellers who have spent time in an affected region such as Victoria must undertake a COVID-19 test and screening on arrival. More information for Essential Travellers here.

Victoria does not have any border restrictions or related updates, except for the closure of the Victoria–NSW border and SA–Victoria border restrictions.

WA has strict border controls in place, and no one can enter WA—unless you have an exemption. Exemptions apply to essential workers, such as those in transport, freight and logistics. Apply for an exemption here.

For the latest COVID-19 updates, please refer to the Australian government’s COVID-19 site.

Measures have been put in place to help curb the spread of COVID-19 and keep everyone safe. Check out some of our tips for truckies on how to keep safe while working.